Site icon Halal or Haram

Magnum Ice Cream Halal or Haram?

halalorharam header

There is a big dispute on the internet over the matter of magnum ice cream being halal or not. The alcoholic flavours, no halal or vegetarian logo on the back of the ice cream packaging and rennet residues present in the magnum are the reason for this dispute.

So can Muslims eat magnum or is it halal or haram?

Let the magnum answer this valuable question itself 

You can find these answers on their official website. 

https://www.magnumicecream.com/uk/FAQs.html

Magnum products are not halal-certified, which means there is a high chance of it containing any haram source or haram ingredients. 

To get the halal certification, a company must fulfill all the requirements of halal manufacturing, storage and distribution of the product. Any authorized body provides halal certification after verifying the product, manufacturing line and ingredients to make sure that all the requirements are fulfilled according to Islamic sharia law. 

Some countries provide halal-certified magnum products, so if magnum ice cream has a halal logo in your region, you can have it with no doubt. If you are living in the UK, Canada or USA, the best advice is to avoid magnum ice cream and go for alternatives. 

Magnum does not verify that its product is 100% vegetarian and does not contain any alcohol source. This means there are significant possibilities for the ice cream to contain animal by-products and alcohol. 

Magnum ice cream contains animal source rennet, which halal or haram status varies according to different Islamic schools. However, according to Magnum, the E471 emulsifier used in the production of the ice cream is of plant origin.

Magnum ice cream comes in a variety of flavours that may contain alcohol. The gelatine content of magnum products is also in question. 

Halal criteria require the company to avoid any source of haram ingredients contamination with the product. Whereas on the other hand magnum ice cream gets exposed to a variety of haram ingredients in the plant. 

Muslims should avoid doubtful matters according to the hadith 

Narrated An-Nu`man bin Bashir:

The Prophet () said “Both legal and illegal things are obvious, and in between them are (suspicious) doubtful matters. So whoever forsakes those doubtful things lest he may commit a sin, will definitely avoid what is clearly illegal; and whoever indulges in these (suspicious) doubtful things bravely, is likely to commit what is clearly illegal. Sins are Allah’s Hima (i.e. private pasture) and whoever pastures (his sheep) near it, is likely to get in it at any moment.”

Exit mobile version