Is Tamatanga Halal or Haram?

halalorharam header

Tamatanga is an Indian chain of restaurants in the UK that offers a range of Indian foods and drinks. They have restaurants in Birmingham, Nottingham, and Leicester.

Tamatanga claims that all its ingredients are fresh and sourced from local suppliers. Also, they grind their spices and don’t add any food additives while cooking in their traditional clay pots.

The UK citizens very much like the tasty Indian cuisines. However, the UK Muslim community often wonder about the Islamic legal status of Tamatanga recipes – are they halal or haram?

In this blog, we will discuss whether the Tamatanga menu is halal or haram so that you can make an informed decision while visiting one of its UK restaurants.

Tamatanga halal haram

Tamatanga Menu

Tamatanga offers various Indian delicacies. Some of its popular recipes include:

  • Salads and Starters
  • Biryani
  • A range of Veggie Collection
  • Seafood
  • Lamb
  • Chicken Recipes
  • Fish Recipes
  • Wraps
  • Sweets and Desserts
  • Gluten-free Meals
  • And Many More

Though chicken in Islam is halal, Muslim men must slaughter it according to the Islamic Zabihah method. Also, the toppings and sauces used in the cooking process may convert a halal chicken into haram if these sauces and toppings are procured from haram sources. This method applies to all halal animals.

Islamic Principle of Halal and Haram

Quran has clearly distinguished halal from haram. Allah (SWT), in Surah Al Baqarah, has clarified the halal and haram food for Muslims.

He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.(Quran 2:173) 

(Source of above-cited Quranic Verse: https://quran.com/2/173?translations=84,17,95,101,22,20)

This Quranic verse is the guiding principle for distinguishing halal food from haram in Islam. According to this verse of the Holy Quran, carrion, i.e. dead meat, the blood, and swine (pig) meat, is haram. And also, if you slaughter any halal animal and dedicate it to others than Allah, it is haram.

Also, certain intoxicants like alcohol, insects, some birds and land animals, and some seafood are not permissible to eat in Islam.

Is Tamatanga Halal or Haram?

Most vegetables are halal and so are permissible to eat for Muslims. Tamatanga claims that they don’t use haram food additives, and grind their spices, so their veggie recipes are pretty safe to consume. However, you must ask the restaurant staff whether a particular recipe is halal or haram.

Though chicken and lamb are halal in Islam, a Muslim must slaughter the animals according to the Islamic shariah. Similarly, nearly all fish recipes are halal, provided all other ingredients used are halal. In addition, you may also find a featured halal recipe in some other Tamatanga restaurants.

To find out about such halal recipes and other menus, contact Tamatanga management, and they will guide you about the restaurants that have halal menus. There is also a halal-certified Tamatanga restaurant located at the Corner House, Trinity Square, Nottingham NG1 4DB, United Kingdom.

To Conclude it

Holy Quran and Sunnah are the two primary sources of guidance for all of the Muslim populace. So, in light of the Quran and Sunnah, for a halal food menu or any other fast food product like chicken biryani, all of its ingredients must be halal and follow the Islamic Zabihah method.

Though all of the Tamatanga restaurants are not halal restaurants, still you can find halal menus in some of its restaurants. Contact the Tamatanga customer support team by visiting their website, and they will guide you about the restaurant with featured halal menus. Also, before visiting the restaurant for a tasty halal bite, you must seek the help of an established Islamic scholar in your community who can give you proper guidance regarding the subject matter.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.