Hakkasan is a Chinese restaurant chain that first opened in London but soon expanded to other regions and countries worldwide. In April 2001, Alan Yu opened the first Hakkasan restaurant in London.
The likeness and frequent visits of the restaurant since its inception by UK citizens are overwhelming. In the UK, Hakkasan is one of the award-winning Chinese restaurants. Hakkasan is one of the busiest Chinese cuisines in the UK. Likewise other UK citizens, the UK Muslim community also likes its tasty and tangy Chinese foods. Still, these Muslims often wonder about the Islamic legal status of Hakkasan recipes – are they halal or haram?
In this blog, we will discuss whether the Hakkasan menu is halal or haram so that you can make an informed decision while visiting one of its UK restaurants.
Hakkasan offers varieties of Chinese cuisines and other recipes. Some of its popular recipes include:
- Salads and Sides
- Grilled salmon in honey
- Wok-seared lamb chop
- Stir-fried rib eye beef with lily bulb
- A range of signature recipes
- Cocktails and Spirits
- Non-alcoholic drinks
- Beer and Cider
- A range of Wine Collection
Though lamb in Islam is halal, its slaughtering must be by Muslim men according to the Islamic slaughtering method. Also, the toppings and sauces used in the cooking process may convert a halal lamb into haram if these sauces and toppings are from haram sources.
Islamic Principle of Halal and Haram
Quran has clearly distinguished halal from haram. Allah (SWT), in Surah Al Baqarah, has clarified the halal and haram food for Muslims.
“He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.” (Quran 2:173)
(Source of above-cited Quranic Verse: https://quran.com/2/173?translations=84,17,95,101,22,20)
This Quranic verse is the guiding principle for distinguishing halal food from haram in Islam. According to this verse of the Holy Quran, carrion, i.e. dead meat, the blood, and swine (pig) meat, is haram. Furthermore, slaughtering and dedicating any halal animal to other than Allah is haram.
Also, certain intoxicants like alcohol, insects, some birds and land animals, and some seafood are not permissible to eat in Islam.
Is Hakkasan Halal or Haram?
Unfortunately, none of the Hakkasan restaurants is halal, as nearly all of these restaurants serve lamb, beef, and chicken which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Zabihah method.
Moreover, many of the food additives and toppings used in cooking are haram, or their source is unknown. But occasionally, you may find featured halal recipes in some Hakkasan restaurants. For instance, many vegan recipes in Hakkasan restaurants are safe to consume. Similarly, some meat and fish recipes are halal as the meat is provided by the halal suppliers and is cooked without any haram ingredient. (Source: https://pvillage.org/archives/201437)
To find out about halal chicken, lamb, fish, and other menus, contact Hakkasan management, and they will guide you about the restaurants that have halal menus. Regarding drinks, non-alcoholic beer and wine are absolutely haram. Hakkasan has a range of non-alcoholic beverages you can enjoy in the restaurant.
To Wrap it Up
Holy Quran and Sunnah are the two primary sources of guidance for all Muslim populace. So, in light of the Quran and Sunnah, for a halal food menu or any other food item, all of its ingredients must be halal, and must follow the Islamic Zabihah method.
Though Hakkasan is not a halal restaurant chain still you can find halal menus in some of its restaurants. Just contact the Hakkasan customer support team by visiting their website and they will guide you about the restaurant with featured halal menus. Also, before visiting the restaurant for a halal bite, you must seek the help of an established Islamic scholar in your community who can give you proper guidance regarding the subject matter.