Is Guar Gum Halal or Haram?

Is Guar Gum Halal or Haram?

Guar gum is obtained from guar seeds and it is a versatile plant-based product that is in use in a range of industries. It is also known as guaran and comes in white powder. India is the largest producer providing around 65% guar powder to the world. Other significant producers include the US, Australia, Pakistan, and several African countries. The end product comes in white powder which is used in textiles, paper, explosives, pharmaceuticals, hydraulic fracturing, and cosmetic industries.

Besides these industries, guar powder has also many food applications as it is used as a thickening and stabilizing agent in many foods like dairy products, meat, condiments, canned soups, dry soups, desserts, and others.

guar gum haram or halal

As many cosmetics and innumerable processed food and other items include guar gum, it is worth pondering to know if this thickening and stabilizing agent is halal or haram. You will get to know about the halal or haram nature of guar gum in this blog, so hang on.

How To Make Guar Gum

To obtain guar gum, the guar seeds are subjected to a range of physical and chemical processes. For making guar powder, guar seeds are mechanically dehusked, hydrated, milled, and screened. There are also some extra procedures for obtaining food-grade guar gum.

Foods Containing Guar Gum

Chemically, guar gum is a galactomannan polysaccharide that is extracted from guar seeds. Guar gum has excellent water retaining ability due to its hydrogen-bond forming property. Its higher water-retaining ability makes it a perfect choice to be used as a thickening and stabilizing agent in a range of food items. Guar gum is present in a range of food items like:

  • Desserts
  • Canned Soups
  • Canned Fish
  • Dairy products
  • Meat products
  • Condiments
  • Ice creams
  • Baked Goods

Islamic Injunction about Halal and Haram

According to the teachings of the Holy Quran, carrion, i.e., dead meat, blood, and swine (pig) meat, are haram. Also, if any halal animal is slaughtered against the Zabihah method and if dedicated to other than Allah, then the such halal animal will become haram. Besides, the blood of halal animals is haram.

Also, the Islam culture prohibits Muslims from eating insects (except locusts) and reptiles. According to the 157 verse of Surah Al-Ar’af, Muslims can’t partake in impure and bad things.

“Those who follow the messenger, the unlettered Prophet, whom they find mentioned in their own (scriptures),- in the law and the Gospel;- for he commands them what is just and forbids them what is evil; he allows them as lawful what is good (and pure) and prohibits them from what is bad (and impure); He releases them from their heavy burdens and from the yokes that are upon them. So it is those who believe in him, honor him, help him, and follow the light which is sent down with him,- it is they who will prosper.” (Surah7 verse 157.)


Also drinking alcohol and eating poisonous or dead seafood is haram.

Is Guar Gum Halal or Haram?

Based on the above verses, there is no prohibition on consuming plants or any plant-based food. As guar gum is also derived from plant seeds (guar seeds) so there is also no objection to eating this plant-based thickening and stabilizing agent.

Many food manufacturers publish a list of ingredients on the product. If any food or a cosmetic product contains guar gum then you can use it provided that all other ingredients of the product are also halal. In most cases, guar gum will not be directly mentioned on the ingredients list. Instead, the manufacturer may have written an E number.

E number used for guar gum is E412 and it belongs to the thickeners class of food additives. So, if you have come across E412 instead of guar gum then don’t worry both are the same.

Final Thoughts

Holy Quran and Sunnah are the two primary sources of guidance for all of the Muslim populace. In light of the Quran and Sunnah, plants and plant-based foods are halal, and therefore, guar gum is also halal.

If you need any guidance about using food or cosmetic item containing guar gum, then you can also consult an established Islamic scholar of your school of thought who can make an informed decision based on the teachings of the Holy Quran and the Sunnah.

1 thought on “Is Guar Gum Halal or Haram?”

  1. Pingback: Is Guar Gum Halal or Haram? -

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *