In our age, fast foods have become very popular globally, particularly in the Western nations. Domino’s Pizza popularly known as Domino’s, founded in 1960 in the US, is one such famous multinational pizza restaurant chain.
Now, the famous Pizza chain has a presence in almost every region and country across the globe. Its franchises are present in more than 80 countries of the world. Likewise, in other countries worldwide, Domino’s is also very popular in the UK, and the restaurant chain has more than 1200 physical locations across the country.
The UK Muslim community also likes its tasty Pizzas and other fast food recipes, but what about the Islamic legal status of Domino’s Pizzas and other recipes – are they halal or haram?
This blog will discuss whether Domino’s Pizzas are halal or haram to make informed decisions while visiting one of its UK franchises.
Domino’s offers a range of pizza types. What makes a pizza halal or haram is in its ingredients. If a pizzaiolo (a pizza-making professional) adds halal ingredients to a pizza, it will be halal. If a pizzaiolo adds haram ingredients, then the pizza will be haram.
Generally, the following are the common ingredients of any pizza:
- Pizza Sauces like Tomato Sauce
- Pizza Toppings
The basic theme for a halal pizza is to include the permissible contents only. Even if you include a minute haram ingredient, the pizza will be haram. We see an example when a slice of beef added to vegetables, makes the food a non-vegetable meal.
Is Domino’s Halal or Haram?
Like other fast-food restaurants, Domino’s also offers a range of pizzas; therefore we have to look for the ingredients of each pizza. Generally, flour, salt, and sugar are halal.
Mozzarella cheese is the preferred cheese topping for pizzas. The mozzarella cheese may be halal or haram depending on the animal source that produces an enzyme called rennet. If rennet comes from a pig then the cheese and the pizza will be haram. But if you slaughter the halal animal according to the Islamic Zabihah method then the cheese will be halal.
Next, pizza sauces like tomato sauce often contain animal extracts. If these animal extracts come from a halal source then there is no objection to using them but if the extracts come from haram sources then the sauce will make the pizza haram.
Finally, Domino’s and other pizza food chains use pepperoni, bacon, sausage, and ham in pizza. In most cases, pigs are a major source of these toppings. Therefore, these toppings are absolutely haram.
So, if you visit any of your nearest Domino’s for a yummy bite, you must look at the pizza ingredients. If they are halal, you can enjoy it, but there is a red flag if they are haram.
A good way to ascertain the halal or haram nature of Domino’s pizza is to look for the halal certifications of the franchise or certain products. If the franchise or some products have halal certifications from your community’s distinguished Islamic scholars, you can enjoy the pizza or any other recipe without any concern.
Islamic Principle of Halal and Haram
Quran has clearly distinguished halal from haram. Allah (SWT), in Surah Al Baqarah, has clarified the halal and haram food for Muslims.
“He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [it’s limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.” (Quran 2:173)
(Source of above-cited Quranic Verse: https://quran.com/2/173?translations=84,17,95,101,22,20)
This Quranic verse is the guiding principle for distinguishing halal food from haram in Islam. According to this verse of the Holy Quran, carrion i.e. dead meat, the blood, and swine (pig) meat are haram. And also, if you slaughter any halal animal and dedicate it to others than Allah, it is haram.
Other Recipes of Domino’s
Besides pizzas, Domino’s also offers a range of other recipes like sandwiches, breadsticks, French fries, chicken products, and soft drinks. The basic rule is the same. The making of halal meals must follow halal ingredients and the Islamic Zabihah method of slaughtering.
Holy Quran and Sunnah are the two primary sources of guidance for all Muslim populace. So, in light of the Quran and Sunnah, all of its ingredients must be halal and follow the Islamic Zabihah method for a halal pizza.
If you are in doubt about any product of Domino’s then lookup for its ingredients and any halal certifications. Also, you must consult an authoritative Islamic scholar for the final verdict.