Is Badger Halal or Haram?

Is Badger Halal or Haram

Majority of Islamic thought schools consider eating badger haram and not-permissible. Badgers are carnivores, and these predators use their teeth to prey on other animals, therefore fall into the inedible category under Islamic law.

However, there is some debate among Muslims as to whether badger meat is haram (forbidden) or halal (permissible). Most Muslims believe that badger meat is haram because it is considered a scavenger animal. Other Muslims believe that badger meat is halal because it is not specifically mentioned in the Quran as being forbidden.

Islamic Principle of Halal and Haram

Quran and Sunnah are the two fundamental sources of guidance for the Muslims of every country and region of this globe. Both of these two primary guidance sources contain timeless principles that modern Muslims follow without any hesitation.

Allah (SWT), in Surah Al Baqarah, has clarified the halal and haram food for Muslims.

“He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.” (Quran 2:173) 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *