Is Sensations Halal or Haram?

halalorharam header

Sensations are the UK’s favorite crispy snacks having varieties of delicious and mouth-watering crisps, poppadoms, oriental crackers, nuts, and mixes. The manufacturer of sensations is Walkers, which is a subsidiary of PepsiCo.

Sensations snacks have been available in the UK since Walkers was established in 1948 in England. Since then, the Sensations snacks and nuts are a favorite snack across the country. In 1989, Walkers was acquired by Frito-Lay, a division of PepsiCo.

Walkers offer Sensations snacks in many countries across the globe, and the products differ from country to country to suit the local culture and preferred taste. In the UK, individuals of most ethnic and religious communities, including the UK Muslims, like and enjoy Sensations snacks and nuts. But the question is whether their favorite snacks are halal to eat? In this blog, we will look up the ingredients of the popular snack to ascertain whether it is halal or haram.

sensations halal or haram

Ingredients of Sensations

As sensations products come in a great variety, we will look at the ingredients present in almost every snack and nut product. But some products may or may not include all of the following ingredients. Therefore, it is advisable to always look up the ingredients mix of your product and then seek guidance from your local Islamic scholar.

  • Potatoes (Halal)
  • Vegetable Oils (Sunflower, Rapeseed, in varying proportions) (Halal)
  • Chili Seasoning
  • Salt (Halal)
  • Firming Agent (Calcium Chloride)
  • Sugar (Halal)
  • Fructose (Halal)
  • Buttermilk Powder (contains Milk)
  • Dried Soy Sauce (Soya Beans & Wheat) (Halal)
  • Tomato Powder (Halal)
  • Onion Powder (Halal)
  • Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
  • Flavoring Agents
  • Garlic Powder (Halal)
  • Dried Parsley
  • Chili Powder (Halal)
  • Potassium Chloride (Halal)
  • Dried Red Peppers (Halal)
  • Paprika Powder
  • Coloring Agents

While looking at the ingredients list, many of them are halal, but the status of some ingredients like coloring, flavoring agents and chili seasonings is not clarified.

Islamic Verdict About Halal and Haram

Muslims worldwide seek guidance from Quran and Sunnah for leading their lives according to Islamic teachings. These two primary guidance sources contain timeless principles that Muslims can follow without any hesitation.

Like its clear guiding principles for all aspects of human life, Quran has clear injunctions when it comes to whether a food or a specific act is halal or haram.

Allah (SWT), in Surah Al Baqarah, has clarified the halal and haram food for Muslims.

He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.(Quran 2:173) 

(Source of above-cited Quranic Verse: https://quran.com/2/173?translations=84,17,95,101,22,20)

This Quranic verse is the guiding principle for distinguishing halal food from haram in Islam. According to this verse of the Holy Quran, carrion, i.e. dead meat, the blood, and swine (pig) meat, is haram. And also, if you slaughter any halal animal and dedicate it to others than Allah, it is haram.

Intoxicants like alcohol, insects, and some birds, land animals, and seafood is not permissible to consume in Islam. Therefore, any food consisting of any haram ingredients will render it haram.

Are Sensations Halal or Haram?

As stated above, the nature of some ingredients like flavoring and coloring agents is unknown. Most of the time, the carrier of coloring and flavoring agents is alcohol, so snacks with such coloring and flavoring agents are haram. In the recent past, UK Muslims decided to boycott some flavors due to the presence of alcohol. (https://www.muftisays.com/forums/82-the-food-section/3732-alcohol-in–walkers-crisps.html)

So, we can say that if all the ingredients of given sensations snacks are halal, then the product will be halal; otherwise, it will be haram.

How to Choose Halal Sensations

The best way to tell if a particular snack is halal or haram is to contact the manufacturer and inquire about all the ingredients used in the snack. Then seek the guidance of your local Islamic scholar about the halal and haram nature of the snack product.

Similarly, look up the halal certifications from Islamic scholars about a particular product. If there is a halal certification from the body, then you can enjoy your snacks, otherwise better leave them.

Generally, the following flavors of sensations are considered halal.

  • Sensations Crisps BBQ Beef Teriyaki Flavour (Ethanol flavorings)
  • Sensations Crisps Caramelised Onion and Balsamic Vinegar Flavour
  • Sensations Crisps Japanese Sweet Wasabi and Ginger Flavour
  • Sensations Crisps Thai Sweet Chilli Flavour
  • Sensations Peanuts Californian Honey & Sea Salt Flavour
  • Sensations Peanuts Mexican Smoked Chilli Flavour (Ethanol flavorings)
  • Sensations Peanuts Thai Sweet Chilli Flavour
  • Sensations Poppadom Bites Lime & Coriander Chutney Flavour (Ethanol flavorings)
  • Sensations Poppadom Bites Mango and Red Chilli Chutney Flavour
  • Sensations Poppadoms Lime & Coriander Chutney Flavour (Ethanol flavorings)
  • Sensations Street Mix Inspired by Mexico (Ethanol flavorings)
  • Sensations Street Mix Inspired by Mumbai (Ethanol flavorings)

(Source: https://thehalallife.co.uk/products/sensations/)

To Conclude

In light of the Quran and Sunnah, any product consisting of haram ingredients is haram, whereas if it consists of halal ingredients, then the product will be halal. It is advisable to look up its ingredient label and seek guidance from an established Islamic scholar before deciding about a sensations product. They will guide you to make an informed decision based on the teachings of the Holy Quran and the Sunnah.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.