Are Maoam Halal or Haram?

Is Maoam Halal or Haram

Maoam is a brand of candy manufactured by a German confectionery company. The German company Haribo has achieved 98% brand awareness in the UK. The reason for their success is their fruity and juicy candy products that tantalize taste buds. People of almost every age group like their products.

A packet of Maoam candy contains around five candies of a particular flavor. Besides candies, the company also offers a range of other products like gums and jellies.

The Haribo sweets are favorites of children and adults alike throughout the UK. Likewise, the Muslim populace of the country is also fond of the company’s products. But the question of whether these products are halal or haram is a concern of UK Muslims. In this blog, we will look up the ingredients of the popular candy products to ascertain whether they are halal or haram.

maoam halal

Ingredients of Haribo Products

As Haribo products come in a great variety, we will look at the ingredients present in almost every candy product. Some products may or may not include all of the following ingredients. Therefore, it is advisable to always look up the ingredients mix of your product and then seek guidance from your local Islamic scholar.

  • Sugar (Halal)
  • Glucose Syrup (Halal)
  • Sorbitol Syrup (Halal)
  • Palm Fat (Halal)
  • Citric Acid (Halal)
  • Gelatin (Haram)
  • Artificial and Natural Flavors (Unknown)
  • Coloring Agents (Unknown)

While looking at the ingredients list, many of them are halal, but gelatin (generally derived from pork) is haram. Still, it is difficult to tell till this day, the nature of some coloring agents, natural and artificial flavors.

Islamic Verdict About Halal and Haram

Muslims worldwide seek guidance from Quran and Sunnah for leading their lives according to Islamic teachings. These two primary guidance sources contain timeless principles that Muslims can follow without hesitation.

Like its guiding principles for all aspects of human life, Quran has clear injunctions when it comes to whether a food or a specific act is halal or haram.

Allah (SWT), in Surah Al Baqarah, has clarified the halal and haram food for Muslims.

He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.(Quran 2:173) 

(Source of above-cited Quranic Verse:,17,95,101,22,20)

This Quranic verse is the guiding principle for distinguishing halal food from haram in Islam. According to this verse of the Holy Quran, carrion, i.e. dead meat, the blood, and swine (pig) meat, is haram.  And also, if you slaughter any halal animal and dedicate it to others than Allah, it is haram.

Are Maoam Halal or Haram?

As stated above, many products of Haribo contain haram ingredients like gelatin (derived from pork). Yet the nature of some ingredients like natural and artificial food flavors and coloring agents are unknown.

Likewise gelatin, if any coloring or flavouring agents are derived from haram sources, the resulting products will be haram. Many regular products of Haribo are haram as they contain gelatin from animal sources, however, Haribo also manufactures halal candies.

Even Haribo has halal certifications from Turkey, Malaysia, and the European Institute of Halal Certification. These halal certifications are for some specific products listed on these certificates.

So, the good news is that you can still enjoy some halal Maoam candies and gums. Nonetheless, always look up the ingredients list and halal certification before chewing Maoam candy. You can find the halal certificates here:

How to Recognize Halal Maoam

The best way to tell if the candy is halal or haram is to contact the manufacturer and inquire about all the ingredients used in the candy. Then seek the guidance of your local Islamic scholar about the halal and haram nature of the candy product.

Similarly, look up the halal certifications from Islamic scholars about a specific product.

To Sum it Up

In light of the Quran and Sunnah, any product consisting of haram ingredients is haram, while products consisting of halal ingredients, is halal. However, before taking a final decision, it is of utmost necessity to seek guidance from an established Islamic scholar who can make an informed decision based on the teachings of the Holy Quran and the Sunnah.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *