Is Zizzi Halal or Haram?

Is Zizzi Halal or Haram

Zizzi is an Italian-inspired chain of restaurants in the UK and Ireland. The first Zizzi restaurant was opened in 1999 in Chiswick. Several Zizzi restaurants are present throughout the country, but London has the most significant number of restaurants – 25.

So far, the chain has around 132 restaurants throughout the UK and Ireland. Its quick expansion in the UK is proof that its Italian-inspired recipes are famous across the country. Likewise, other UK citizens, the UK Muslim community also likes its tasty and tangy foods. Still, these Muslims often wonder about the Islamic legal status of Zizzi recipes – are they halal or haram?

In this blog, we will discuss whether the Zizzi menu is halal or haram so that you can make an informed decision while visiting one of its UK restaurants.

zizzi halal or haram

Zizzi Menu

Zizzi offers various Italian-inspired recipes. Some of its popular recipes include:

  • Salads and Starters
  • Pizza
  • Pasta
  • Lasagne
  • Risotto
  • Meat Recipes
  • Fish Recipes
  • Non-Gluten Meals
  • Sweets and Desserts
  • Ice Creams

Though chicken, a major ingredient in their recipe is halal, in Islam, the Muslim men must slaughter the chicken according to the Islamic Zabihah method. Also, the toppings and sauces used in the cooking process may convert a halal chicken into haram if these sauces and toppings are haram.

Similarly, if a halal animal is slaughtered according to the Islamic method, it is halal. Otherwise, nearly all fish are permissible to consume if any other haram ingredient is not mixed during cooking.

Islamic Principle of Halal and Haram

Quran has clearly distinguished halal from haram. Allah (SWT), in Surah Al Baqarah, has clarified the halal and haram food for Muslims.

He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.(Quran 2:173) 

(Source of above-cited Quranic Verse: https://quran.com/2/173?translations=84,17,95,101,22,20)

This Quranic verse is the guiding principle for distinguishing halal food from haram in Islam. According to this verse of the Holy Quran, carrion, i.e. dead meat, the blood, and swine (pig) meat, is haram. And also, if you slaughter any halal animal and dedicate it to others than Allah, it is haram.

Also, certain intoxicants like alcohol, insects, some birds and land animals, and some seafood are not permissible to eat in Islam.

Is Zizzi Halal or Haram?

Unfortunately, Zizzi is not a halal restaurant as nearly all of these restaurants serve pork, beef, and chicken. They do not have specific handling policies that ensure the final dishes are Halal. (The Zizzi official account tweeted this — https://twitter.com/wearezizzi/status/1425008016575848452).

Though chicken and beef are halal, they do not follow the Islamic Zabihah method of slaughter. Even their pizza contains haram toppings, including haram food additives and preservatives.

But occasionally, you may find a featured halal recipe in some Zizzi restaurants. For instance, a Zizzi restaurant located at 198 George Lane, Redbridge, Greater London E18 2QL features a halal chicken menu that you can enjoy. (Source: https://www.zabihah.com/biz/PtUOvQMaot?msg=)

To find out about halal chicken, fish, and other menus, contact Zizzi management, and they will guide you in choosing the restaurants with halal menus.

To Conclude

The Holy Quran and Sunnah are the two primary sources of guidance for all Muslim populace. So, in light of the Quran and Sunnah, for a halal food menu or any other fast food like pizza, all ingredients must be halal and must follow the Islamic Zabihah method.

Though Zizzi is not a halal restaurant chain, still you can find halal menus in some of its restaurants. Just contact the Zizzi customer support team by visiting their website, and they will guide you in choosing restaurants featuring halal menus. Also, before visiting the restaurant for a halal bite, you must seek the help of an Islamic scholar in your community for proper guidance regarding the subject matter.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *