Is Beef Jerky Halal or Haram?

Is Beef Jerky Halal or Haram?

The word ‘Jerky’ is derived from the Quechua word “ch’arki,” which means dried, salted meat. Beef Jerky is fine cuts of lean meat that is dehydrated and salted for preventing spoilage. Beef jerky is a healthy snack as it has plenty of proteins and a range of other macro and micronutrients.

Traditionally, beef jerky is produced by taking fine cuts of lean beef and then drying it up using a low-temperature method. Also, salt is added to the beef when it is still undergoing a low-temperature drying-up process. Usually, beef jerky is used as a snack food as it requires no additional cooking and is available in the stores in several varieties.

Several varieties of beef jerky are available in the market due to different manufacturing techniques. Though many households are still following the traditional manufacturing method but commercially, a range of techniques are in use for producing beef jerky.

These commercial beef jerky-producing techniques include drying, curing, and smoking. Besides, several other ingredients are added to commercial beef jerkies to enhance the flavor. These additional ingredients include sauces, spices, brown sugar, food additives, and certain preservatives.

Beef jerky is a snack of the choice of a majority of the UK citizens including members of the UK Islamic community because of its rich flavor. However, many UK Muslims ponder whether it is halal or haram. This blog will discuss whether beef jerky is halal or haram, so keep reading.

Islamic Principle of Halal and Haram

Quran and Sunnah are the two fundamental sources of guidance for the Muslims of every country and region of this globe. Both of these two primary guidance sources contain timeless principles that modern Muslims follow without any hesitation.

Allah (SWT), in Surah Al Baqarah, has clarified the halal and haram food for Muslims.

“He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.” (Quran 2:173) 

(Source of above-cited Quranic Verse,17,95,101,22,20)

This Quranic verse is the guiding principle for distinguishing halal food from haram in Islam. According to this verse of the Holy Quran, carrion, i.e., dead meat, blood, and swine (pig) meat, is haram. And also, if a halal animal is not slaughtered according to the established Islamic Zabihah method and if the animal is dedicated to any other except Allah, then the such halal animal will become haram.

In addition, some parts of a halal animal are also either haram or undesirable (makrooh) to eat. These haram or undesirable parts include:

  • Flowing blood (Absolutely haram)
  • Male genitals
  • Female genitals
  • Testicles
  • Bladder
  • Gallbladder
  • Glands
  • Haraam marrow (Spinal marrow)
  • The two muscles of the neck that stretch up to the shoulders
  • The blood from the liver
  • The blood from the spleen
  • The blood that comes out from the meat after slaughtering
  • The blood from the heart
  • Bile, i.e. the yellow fluid from inside the gallbladder
  • The nasal fluid, which is present mainly in sheep
  • Anus
  • Tripe
  • Intestines
  • Sperm
  • The transforming of sperm into blood
  • The transforming of sperm into flesh
  • The transforming of sperm into an animal that dies without slaughter


Though the blood is absolutely haram, there may be differences in opinion among jurists and mujtahids of different Islamic schools of thought. Therefore, it is advisable to seek guidance from an established scholar of your school of thought before making any final decision regarding eating the above-stated parts of a halal animal.

Is Beef Jerky Halal or Haram?

Beef jerky is halal if the beef source comes from a halal animal. Moreover, the halal animal must be slaughtered by a practicing Muslim according to the Islamic Zabihah method.

Also in the UK, cattle are pre-stunned before slaughter. On this stunning matter, you should seek the guidance of an established Islamic scholar of your school of thought before consuming any beef jerky.

Generally, the traditional beef jerky sourced from a halal animal is halal as there is only salt (the halal ingredient) in it. But the commercial beef jerky varieties may contain a range of additional ingredients and certain food additives and preservatives. So, look up the ingredient list of your preferred variety of beef jerky before having a bite.

To Conclude

The Holy Quran and Sunnah are the two primary sources of guidance for all Muslim populace. So, in light of the Quran and Sunnah, the beef jerky source must be halal and the Islamic Zabihah method must be followed.

However, before taking a final decision, it is of utmost necessity to seek guidance from an established Islamic scholar who can make an informed decision based on the teachings of the Holy Quran and the Sunnah.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *